Redemption: seven years later

Today I received notice that I’ll be presenting my master’s thesis research at the first ever writing center conference in China. The conference is in June later this year.

It’s still sinking in. It’s so wild that this is happening…screen-shot-2017-03-06-at-8-36-10-pm

Seven years ago–almost to the day–I was also scheduled to present this research. *flashback: In 2010, I worked full time at [redacted] and was a full-time graduate student pursuing my MA TESOL at a local state university. I had chosen to write a master’s thesis, instead of taking six (easy) elective credits, and was nearly done. I was scheduled to present my research at 4Cs (Conference on College Composition and Communication, a huge conference for writing teachers). Then I was diagnosed with a pheochromocytoma, a rare adrenal tumor, and my life came to a screeching halt: no conference, no thesis presentation, nothing but rest and medical care I wished I didn’t need.*

Now back to 2017: I have my MA, almost five years of teaching experience, and no tumors. I live in China. I learned that my university is hosting the first conference on writing centers in Asia (and subsequently freaked out… because how could I be so lucky?!) and submitted my proposal to present. Today it was accepted.

Today I smiled, cheered, jumped up and down, and shared my news with friends and family.

Today I recognized redemption and looked it in the eyes. I’m finally back on track.

I’d ultimately like to redo parts of my research at my university in China, get involved with the writing center here, and let myself geek out about one of my favorite topics in teaching. All of this will take time, but presenting at this conference will bode well for these ambitions! 🙂 I’m so excited!

3 thoughts on “Redemption: seven years later

Leave a Reply

